dairy free

Products that (inexplicably/unknowingly) contain dairy:
For the record, what dairy IS:

  • casein
  • whey
  • calcium carbonate
  • caseinate
  • milk protein
  • hydrolyzed milk protein
  • calciumc aseinate
  • hydrolyzed casein
  • iron caseinate
  • lacto*
  • magnesium caseinate
  • potassium caseinate
  • sodium caseinate

What dairy IS NOT:

  • lactate
  • lactic acid

I decided to start generating a list of products (food or otherwise) that one would not think would contain dairy due to my recent experience with Vitamin Water. This list is to serve those who are dairy free by choice or by allergy. If you have any items you’d like to see on the list, please contact me with the name of the product and ingredient list (if available).

  • Jimmy John’s Salt & Vinegar Jimmy Chips
    Contains lactose. Apparently it’s common to use lactose and other milk derivatives to stablize and enhance flavors in salt & vinegar chips. [Link has listing of top s&v chips, many name brands that use lactose.]
  • Vitamin Water
    All of their ZERO flavors and 11 out of 12 of their regular flavors contain calcium lactate and magnesium lactate. Calcium lactate can be created from plants, where magnesium lactate is naturally deriving from lactic acid, which comes from cow’s milk. The problem with calcium lactate is you do not know what derivative (plant or animal) is used in the particular food/item.
  • Toothpaste/mouthwash.
    Occasionally found in toothpaste, though limited evidence suggests whey protein helps with dental plaque. Additionally, according to the US Dairy Council, a derivative, lactoferrin, is used for antibacterial purposes in toothpaste and mouthwash.
  • Baileys Irish Cream, various beers
    It was pointed out to me that Baileys having cream it ii should be an obvious thing, but I was hoping for it to not be true (alas, it is). I also discovered various breweries often brew with milk sugar, like Left Hand Brewing, which can be dangerous. Not all beers with “milk” in the title refer to how the beer was brewed, see New Holland’s Dragon Milk.
  • Multivitamins
    Another no brainer when I bring it up, but it had not occurred to me how/where the calcium is derived until a vegan friend pointed this out to me. My daily vitamin contains calcium derived from shellfish, but also contains gelatin. If you’re looking for dairy free AND animal friendly option, I would suggest finding a vegan multivitamin.

Last updated: January 20, 2013

Exit mobile version